A “Bit” of Looking Back – Letters to Santa Claus (December, 1950)


Letters to Santa Claus

From The Malakoff News
Friday, December 22, 1950

Malakoff,Texas

Dear Santa – Please bring me a doll bed, Toni-doll, robe, gown, and house shoes.  Remember all the other little boys and girls.

Love,
Mickey Ferguson

 

Malakoff,Texas

Dear Santa – I am writing you to tell you what I want for Xmas.  I want a blackboard, gun, jeans, cap, and gloves.  I also want some fruit, candy, and nuts.  Goodbye, Santa.

Luck to you,
Lucky Stout

 

Malakoff,Texas

Dear Santa – I am a little boy in the first grade.  I think I am a good boy, so will you please send me a B.B. gun and a pair of boots?

Yours truly,
Harvey D. Robertson

 

Malakoff,Texas

Dear Santa – I want a B.B. gun and a cap gun.  Please bring me a record player and a house.  How are you, Santa?  I like to work.  I like school.  I love you.

I am a good boy.
Tony Joe Carden

 

Malakoff,Texas

Dear Santa – I want a cap gun and a bicycle.  I was a good boy.

Love,
V. Cantrell

 

Malakoff,Texas

Dear Santa – I want a doll.  I am a good girl.  Sometimes, I am not a good girl.  I want a nurse set.

Love,
Cleo Hearne

 

Malakoff,Texas

Dear Santa Claus – I have been good in school.  I want a doll that will cry real tears, and a cowgirl suit.  Ralinda wants a cry baby doll.  My cousin, Mary Lee Dement, wants a doll.  She is moving toTyler.  Mother has a surprise for her.  She got her something.  I want a zipper notebook.  And I want a watch.  Is everybody happy on Christmas?

Your friend,
Vicki Lewis

 

Trinidad,Texas

Dear Santa – I am seven years old and in the second grade.  I want a chemical set and I want a gun, too.

Love,
Larry Story

 

TrindadTexas

Dear Santa – I am seven years old and in the second grade.  Please, for Christmas I want a box of stationery, an electric iron, and an ironing board.

Yours truly,
Joann Roberson

 

Trinidad,Texas

Dear Santa ­– I am seven years old and in the second grade.  For Christmas, I want a bicycle and candy.

Yours truly,
Thurman Louie Fancher, Jr.

Leave a Reply

